10 Quick Prayers for Nurses

PrayI love to pray, but I know many nurses just don’t know where to start. Here are some brief scripture prayers to rely on the Lord throughout your day, in addition to your more extended devotional times.

In upcoming months I will address more prayer topics in regular blog posts. I am reminded of C.S. Lewis who said, “I pray because I can’t help myself. I pray because I’m helpless. I pray because the need flows out of me all the time—waking and sleeping. It doesn’t change God—it changes me.”

Amen!
~by Jane Hall, NCF National Director

Strength

♦ Lord, help me to be strong, while bearing with the failings of those who are weak. Let me not seek to please myself. (Rom 15:1)

♦ Father, I rejoice in my weaknesses, in insults, in hardships and in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. (2 Corinthians 12:10)

♦ May I be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus and in his mighty power. (2 Timothy 2:1 and Ephesians 6:10)

Commitment

♦ Lord, I commit my way to you today. Help me to trust in you to make my righteous reward shine like the dawn, my vindication like the noonday sun. (Psalm 37:5-6)

♦ Father, help me to devote myself in love to those in my care today. Show me ways to honor my colleagues. (Romans 12:10)

♦ Keep me faithful, Lord! (1 Corinthians 4:2)

♦ Help me, Lord, to willingly suffer the consequences of faithfulness, knowing that you alone promise life as a victor’s crown. (Rev 2:10)

Compassion

♦ Heavenly Father, let me know your compassion in my work today and share it with those in my care. (Psalm 103:13 and Matthew 14:14)

♦ Lord, help me to be kind and compassionate to my colleagues, forgiving them, just as in Christ you forgave me. (Ephesians 4:32)

♦ Lord, as your dearly beloved child, I put on your compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience as I begin my work today. (Colossians 3:12)

©2006, Nurses Christian Fellowship/InterVarsity Christian Fellowship

One Response to “10 Quick Prayers for Nurses”

  1. Nancy Barhite Says:

    Wonderful sentence prayers to keep me focused. Thank you

Leave a Reply

