Unforced Rhythms of Grace

Renee's Path

I love my job as the director of NCF Student Ministries, but last spring I was approaching burn-out. It had been a great year of ministry with nursing students, but I knew I needed a break. My sabbatical in May arrived just in time!

Throughout the summer God reminded me of his amazing invitation to rest. These words of Jesus were particularly fitting:

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace” (Matthew 11:28-30, The Message).

I am tempted each day to focus only on all I need to do in my work, but I need to remember what I learned in my sabbatical. Now I consciously ask the question, “What does it look like to walk through the day with Jesus?”

I encourage you to reflect on this question as well. What does it look like for you to walk through the day with Jesus? I’d love to hear how God invites you to learn the unforced rhythms of grace!

–Renee Lick, NCF Student Ministries Director

Leave a Reply

