Improving your Spiritual Health

Ask DeborahQUESTION: If spiritual health is part of holistic health, what should I be doing to improve my spiritual health?

This is a question that Deborah Patterson posed in Church Reader, the e-newsletter for parish nurses and church workers. Deborah shares 10 ways that we can improve our spiritual health in her article, Ask Deborah: Spiritual Health.

However, before you read it, I want to challenge you to answer it for yourself. Share your ideas with us. Then read the article and see if you get other ideas to apply to your life.

Here’s my answer which is part of my commitment for this Lenten season. I’m going to pray this verse each morning as I drink my cup of coffee:

So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering” (Romans 12:1, The Message).

Here’s a toast to spiritual health!

Bonnie Hann, RN, BSN, BS-Missionary Nursing
NCF Campus Liaison

2 Responses to “Improving your Spiritual Health”

  1. shauna Says:

    The 2nd verse of Romans 12 says “And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” This has been my life verse for the past few months as I have transitioned through changes at work and at home. The article in the April/May 2012 edition of JCN, “Stress at Work,” is very timely also. Funny how God provides what we need when we need it!

  2. Monica Hirai Says:

    This is an excellent question, in order to improve my own personal spiritual health I like to read the Bible in different versions and listen to pastors are teaching proper theology, because that way I know and understand who God really is, rather than who I think he is. Absolute truth is important in order to base your life on something solid since this world is ever-changing and people are dying I have to go ultimately rely on God. And God to me is personal and not a force, through Christ’s redemptive work on the cross I can die spiritually to the past and through his resurrection I have hope for the future. People need to explore who God is and how to hear him properly. Through reading God’s written Word and praying and listening to good theology is possible for people to find out who God really is. And I thank God for his holistic health solutions because he does provide remedies made from His earth to his creation and his is our job to discover them. Once again thank you for this article I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

