Trusting God

summer restSummer is a great time to get refreshed in body, mind and spirit. With this in mind, Skip McDonald shares her thoughts with us for our own spiritual refreshment and inspiration. Whatever your circumstances today, may you trust in the Lord for what troubles you.

We hear repeatedly, “Trust God!” That sounds well and good, but what does it mean?

The Bible is full of passages urging us to trust in God, such as Proverbs 3:5-6: “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding.”

And then we read this bold appeal in Philippians 4:6, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” I’ve read that before and have said to God, “Do you really mean don’t be anxious about anything?” Shortly after the question passed my lips, I exclaimed to myself, “Of course that’s what He means!”
Sigh. . . .

In saying that we trust God, we’re placing our confidence in Him. We’re confiding in Him on our deepest level. We’re depending on Him and expecting Him to be there for us, always. We rest and rely on Him to provide all that we need. We focus on Him for life itself, allowing a continual flow of His life through us. The longer we trust Him, the more He is able to reveal Himself to us.

As nurses and nursing students, trusting God is imperative because others depend on us for care.  We need faith for ourselves and for them. As we trust Him, we rely more on His wisdom and less on our knowledge. Patients benefit from nurses who work with confidence, trusting God to give care through them.

In your life today, what does God have His finger on? Is there something He wants you to trust Him with?

This is one of my favorite “trust” passages: “But I trust in you, Lord; I say, “You are my God.” My times are in your hands” (Psalm 31:14-15). May your trust in the Lord deepen, knowing that your times are in His hands.

–by Skip McDonald, NCF staff

18 Responses to “Trusting God”

  1. Skip McDonald Says:

    Thanks for sharing this Vicki. Interesting how He speaks in the middle of the night just what we need to hear. To God be the glory!

  2. vicki pearce Says:

    Skip,
    Its cool the way God seems to be on track with a now message for all of us. I was worring a few weeks back about an issue in the middle of the night when I should have been sleeping. I distinctly heard God say to me…” You do Not trust Me”. But of course I do I said. ” Then why are you awake thinking on matters you cannot control? I was humbled out of my bed and onto my face. I sleep a lot better and never want this type of word in the wee hours. I love His voice a lot better without the rebuke part….thank you Lord for your loving correction.

  3. Skip McDonald Says:

    Ahh Frankie! I remember that conversation too. God is good and faithful to let us know just what we need. I hope you are doing well. God bless you!
    Skip

  4. Frankie Says:

    Dear Skip…I saw this picture from Cedar Campus…and remembered when I sat with you at this spot…and shared. I have been reading ‘The Power of Positive thinking’ by Norman Vincent Peale…currently reflecting on Romans 12:2…’be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind.’…and Norman says ‘Let mental pictures of the most peaceful scenes fill your mind…they will be a healing medicine’….And what thoughts came to my mind…my times at Cedar Campus…lessons on how to sit at God’s feet for refreshment.
    Blessings,
    Frankie

  5. skippermc Says:

    Hi Cindy, thanks for sharing a great reminder in Scripture of what it looks like to trust God. He is faithful. Indeed as we acknowledge Him in all our ways, He will direct our path. (Prov 3:6) Blessings to you!

  6. skippermc Says:

    Jacoline, thanks so much for sharing with me. I pray that God will swing doors of opportunity wide open for you. I pray for just the right job where you can grow and bless others. God bless you real good!

  7. skippermc Says:

    Thanks Sheree for the encouragement. I am happy to share what God is doing for me and teaching me. I can’t keep it to myself!

  8. skippermc Says:

    My pleasure Nancy. We all have to be reminded to refocus at times. This life affords us many things to think and pray about. Remembering the audience of ONE helps to keep us focused and trusting. God bless you!

  9. skippermc Says:

    So good to hear from you Wytona. I pray that God will work everything out for you according to His perfect will. I sure do hope to see you soon. Love and miss you too!

  10. Cindy Carter Says:

    Skip, thanks for sharing this timely word. In I Chronicles 5:20 the writer recounts a time in Israel’s history when they chose to trust: “They were helped in fighting them, and God handed the Hagrites and all their allies over to them, because they cried out to Him during the battle. He answered their prayers, because they trusted in Him”.

    You are right, it is imperative that we choose to trust, in all circumstances.

  11. Jacoline Sommer Says:

    I am from Pakistan and have worked as a President for five years but now have come to Dubai with my Family. I also found this sharing very touchy as I am going through some difficult time in my life as Job seeker. I am practicing trust in GOD as I have put my CV and wait for the call.
    Thank you for sharing as I found these words and bible references are very relevant to my situation as well.
    God Bless you

  12. Sheree Says:

    Skip,
    You never seem to amaze me with your words of encouragement and your constant light in such a dark time for some people! Thank you for being obedient to the will of God by encouraging us “to keep our eyes on Him!”

  13. Nancy Hines Says:

    So timely and such a good question.. What does God have His finger on….? So many decisions, plans for the future, trusting for wisdom, knowing there is No ONE like HIM and that He has a purpose and a plan….
    A nurse from Uganda…. appointments to come….. Wisdom for decisions.
    Thanks for this refocus, Skip

  14. wytona Says:

    Thanks Skip,
    I needed to hear this word today as there are transitions in my business right now and you know how crazy that can be for me! Love you and I miss you!

  15. skippermc Says:

    Thanks Jan. I’m always grateful when God chooses to use something that I have to say to bring hope and encouragement. May you know His deep love today.

  16. Jan Says:

    Hi Skip! As usual, your words offer solace in the midst of this crazy thing I call life. Thanks for letting Him use you to encourage others. You do it very well, my friend!

  17. skippermc Says:

    Thank God for words in season huh Ada?! Thanks for sharing this with me. Thanks for allowing God to use you in His seasons.

  18. Ada Scharf Says:

    Thanks Skip for that Word in Season. Somehow I read it just in time to alert some co-workers of a resident’s graveside memorial tomorrow. The devotonal reminded me of what my “work” is, as a child of God and nurse. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

